Cart 0 items: $0.00

Close

Qty Item Description Price Total
  SubTotal $0.00

View Cart

 
Your Account  |  Login
Bill Dyer
 
April 9, 2014 | General | Bill Dyer

2014 Season Begins

Another Napa Valley Cabernet season begins!  During the first week of April the vines at Dyer  Vineyard started what we call “budbreak.” This means the buds began to push out  leaves- the beginnings of shoots that will bear this years crop.  Since the last post we have had a little over 4” of additional rain, and we can once again hear the gurgling of Diamond Creek.  While this doesn’t end the drought for much of California, it is great timing for the Napa Valley.  The vines now have the ground moisture they need to grow their normal one-meter shoots by the end of May.  With water still an issue this season, it also helps that at Dyer Vineyard we selected a rootstock that is capable of going very deep to pull moisture that will remain a long time around the volcanic rocks that make up our site. 

Over the next few weeks any further storms will be welcomed but the bigger issue now is the need to be vigilant for any frost events that commonly follow the late season storm fronts that drop down from the north. Our Diamond Mountain site offers protection from most of these, as cold air tends to settle on the floor of the Napa Valley, leaving the hillsides a little warmer. However, once in a while the colder air is deeper to the extent it reaches our vineyard. Frost is made of crystals that can damage the tissue in the young shoots—our method of protecting them is to activate a sprinkler system that shoots a small spray right down the vine row. This prevents frost from forming on the vines. Even if the temperature falls below freezing, and ice forms on the shoots, they are protected against frost. Yes, this is counter-intuitive (and perhaps a subject for another posting)!

Comments

network cabling systems greenville sc's Gravatar
 
network cabling systems greenville sc
@ Sep 25, 2015 at 9:41 AM
Only a community cabling specialist can find, confirm and check the bandwidth and community requirements.

Kathleen's Gravatar
 
Kathleen
@ Jan 7, 2016 at 7:15 AM
Vineyard should be taken after carefully so that grapes may find an environment for their normal growth. Healthy grapes give high quality of wine. The owners of the vineyard should be wise and good so they can invest their valuable times for the growth of grapes.

Rachit Kumar's Gravatar
 
Rachit Kumar
@ Jul 14, 2016 at 2:48 AM
Packers and Movers Pune Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/ Packers and Movers Mumbai Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/ Packers and Movers Delhi Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/

Rachit Kumar's Gravatar
 
Rachit Kumar
@ Jul 14, 2016 at 2:48 AM
Packers and Movers Bangalore Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore/ Packers and Movers Hyderabad Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad/ Packers and Movers Gurgaon Charges # http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon/

Akinchan Kumar's Gravatar
 
Akinchan Kumar
@ Jul 14, 2016 at 2:49 AM
Packers and Movers Noida Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/ Packers and Movers Chennai Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai/ Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimumbai/ Packers and Movers Thane Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/ Packers and Movers Ghaziabad Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziabad/ Packers and Movers Faridabad Charges @ http://www.movers5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridabad/

Rachit Kumar's Gravatar
 
Rachit Kumar
@ Jul 14, 2016 at 2:49 AM
Packers and Movers in Hyderabad Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html Packers and Movers in Pune Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html Packers and Movers in Bangalore Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalore.html Packers and Movers in Delhi Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html Packers and Movers in Gurgaon Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.html Packers and Movers in Mumbai Charges @ http://www.moveby5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html

academic essay writing's Gravatar
 
academic essay writing
@ Aug 8, 2016 at 3:27 AM
I want to really appreciate you have made a brilliant site and articles is also very interesting I want to you keep writing more articles thank you so much sharing with us.

Crazy Bulk's Gravatar
 
Crazy Bulk
@ Aug 16, 2016 at 3:33 AM
Crazy Bulk Reviews @ http://www.crazybulkstacks.com

Phen24's Gravatar
 
Phen24
@ Aug 17, 2016 at 2:15 AM
According to a review of Phen24, this weight loss supplement has been found to work wonders on your body. As the name suggests, this is a 24-hour pill that helps to boost your body’s metabolism.

Best Age Defying Cream's Gravatar
 
Best Age Defying Cream
@ Aug 17, 2016 at 5:52 AM
Pensida Age-Defying Formula is known as the best age defying cream due to its fabulous performance on aging skin. According to age defying cream review, the cream helps to achieve smooth, soft, and glowing skin.

Phen24 Review's Gravatar
 
Phen24 Review
@ Aug 22, 2016 at 2:29 AM
Phen24 reviews are amazing. This reflects the success of these pills. People find a remarkable difference in their body appearance within 3-4 weeks. Please be particular about your diet. Try to be physically active whole day as much as possible. Click to know more.. http://phen24store.com/

Add A Blog Comment
E-Mail me when someone comments on this post

Leave this field blank: